Creating My Blog

I have used WordPress previously, but the website had already been created, I was just adding posts, articles, etc.  I had never been able to work so freely with the site before.  When I chose my theme, it did not have multiple columns and it had no navigation bar.  Instead of playing around with the settings, I decided to just pick a new theme.  After picking my new theme, I realized it also did not have a navigation bar.  But this time, I wanted to see if there was a way to change that.  After a quick look through the settings, I was able to have the navigation bar on display.  Then my next and final dilemma was when I needed to add the “Meet The Author” page.  Since I wanted it in the navigation bar, after I added the page, I had to go back into the settings and select it to be a part of the bar.  After I finished that, I had no other issues with the site.  It was all due to the theme I wanted.

3 Replies to “Creating My Blog”

  1. Your blog design is very clean. I like the color use and the header photo draws it all together very nicely. I’m not sure what the Blogroll sidebar widget is for and it is slightly distracting though, at least to me, since it just seems to be a bunch of links to different sites or pages unrelated to your blog.

    Like

  2. I share your frustration whilst theme hunting! Most everything is great, all the necessary links are in the header or sidebar and the featured picture for the post was very well chosen! My only problem was that, from the main page, because your whole post is readable there, I thought I had direct access to it, and so, the comment button. It took me a while to realize that I may just be looking at a preview that happened to show the whole thing which finally gave me access to commenting. Looking forward to seeing your coming posts!

    Like

  3. I like how straight forward your approach is. The blog is nice, tidy,clean, simple and very uncluttered. I would recommend you offer some kind of mission you want to share or purpose you want to achieve with this blog regardless, it’s a great looking blog

    Like

Leave a Reply

