Creating My Header

My header is two separate photos that are my own.  One of the pictures, the city skyline, is a picture I took this summer while taking a helicopter ride over New York City.  The other picture, my sister and I on the beach, I took while I was on vacation in Bocas Del Toro, Panama, over Spring Break.  I chose these two pictures because they are two times where I felt I stepped out of my comfort zone.  I’ve always been scared of heights so getting in a helicopter without doors and flying over New York was definitely out of my comfort zone, but an experience I will remember forever.  Panama is normally a country that doesn’t have the best reputation so traveling there was a little scary but very worth it.

The process of making the header on Pixlr was more complicated than expected.  I wasn’t sure exactly what I wanted to do with the pictures, but I knew I wanted to include both of them.  At first I tried to blend the two pictures in the middle so they would fade into each other.  I tried splitting one picture and then having the layer underneath fade together.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t seem to figure out how to accomplish this goal.  So, instead of blending them together, I overlapped the pictures and made them transparent so you can see both images.  Although this was a simpler task, I think I was still able get the same message across with what I had done.

One Reply to “Creating My Header”

  1. Wow! Your header looks absolutely amazing! It’s amazing that you were able to figure out how to overlap the two photos in such a beautiful way. I also really like the symbolism behind the photos–stepping outside one’s comfort zone is a scary task but I find that it’s always a worthwhile learning experience. Great job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

